barely bridal #12 כולה כלה

BPX_2446
Lital and Nir had a small wedding that was fortunate to take part of. Their wedding was fun and laid back and was exactly what we talk about in the barely bridal project. And as if being chill wasn’t enough, Lital’s answers and story behind the dress are simply perfect.barely bridal 12  blog collagesbarely bridal 12  blog collages2
1. what’s the story behind the dress?
– for the life of god I never wanted a dress with a story, but when we decided to get married my mom suggested her well-kept dress, and that was easy and available, but the rest of the story is that we started telling ourselves how we’re going to pass it on from generation to generation,  and that’s a bonus, less of what’s the story, more like who.
BPX_2428BPX_2437-2BPX_24612. who made it? where did you get it?
-oh, good thing you asked, the dress was made by Aunt Jinet, who isn’t actually my mom’s aunt, but a holocaust survivor friend of my grandfather, rest his soul. Aunt Jinet was a seamstress, her and her partner never had kids, so as long as my mother can remember, she would promise her that when the time comes she will sew her wedding dress. I don’t know how much my mother took this threat seriously, but when she returned to France with the new about her marrying my dad, Aunt Jinet jumped up with the measuring tape and the rest is history. But I can’t really stop here, because even though my mom’s English lace selection was stunning, her wedding was in the 80s, meaning that there was enough of it to build a small tent, especially around the shoulder area, and of course a thick-thick belt that was finished with a huge gift style bow in the back. I tried it on, my dad laughed and almost choked, and said “it looks very modest”. Luckily, I reached out to Odelia Arnold, a fashion designer who’s talent cannot be described in words, she totally took apart the dress and was very attentive before reconstructing in to the stunning result before you.BPX_2487
3. how long did it take to make?
– the second time around was six weeks from our first meeting with two measurement sessions. The first time, Im guessing it took a while, even though Aunt Jinet was ready for it for 26 years, I can assume it was pretty quick.BPX_2497
4. price?
– $200 for the alterations, the first time around was free + emotional taxes.
BPX_2506BPX_2533
5. any regrest?
– far from it.
BPX_2512
6. A wedding dress for you is?
– not a big deal. My mom was actually the first one to get married in a white dress after my grandmother and great grandmother were even more undermining than we were and got married in pants. I think it’s mainly cool if you can make it into a family thing and load it with a personal story. I wish I’ll be able to pass it on to someone from the next generation to do whatever her heart pleases with it.
another thing is that i think a wedding dress in general is quite embarrassing from its roots, and I don’t see any purpose in adding drama to it. Who are you, women who get married in kawabanga and crystal dresses that cost like half an apartment?BPX_2526

Lital and Nir on their wedding day
20150612151922-BPX_003420150612144740-BPX_9907

photography: Elad Baranga
make up artist: Ruth Toledo
model: Gal Pollak
flower and stuff: Arbel Eshed
location: Sura Mare
Jewelry : Knobbly

Leave a Reply

